A League Division 1 – Round 12. Skryne 0-08 Summerhill 2-14

‘Hill too hot to handle

Skryne 0-08 Summerhill 2-14

A League Division 1 – Round 12

Sunny Skryne fresh from hosting Feile victors O’Donovan Rossa was the setting for Monday evening’s A League Division 1 match between Summerhill and Skryne. These two sides met earlier this year in Round 2 of the championship where Summerhill came out on top. Monday night was to be no different as Summerhill produced a determined defensive display coupled with clinical attacking to overpower Skryne. Skryne did have plenty of possession in the opening half but Summerhill’s tight marking ensured that most of this possession was out the field. Patrick Fox got the scoring underway with only a minute on the clock. However, Summerhill responded with a Davy Dalton goal and a couple of points before Paddy O’Rourke added to Skryne’s tally with a pointed free and a 45. Skryne’s best player on the night Ian Gillett pulled off the first of 2 spectacular saves to deny Summerhill a certain goal as he dived full length to tip away a rasping Summerhill drive. Skryne managed 1 more point in the half from Mark Battersby who finished a well worked move. Summerhill added 3 more points to leave the half-time score Skryne 0-04, Summerhill 1-05.

Skryne showed some promise in the early part of the second half when Batts bagged his second point of the game and big Paddy added another from a free to narrow the gap to 2. However, that was as close as Skryne got as Summerhill took control of the game,  racking up 1-08 without a reply from Skryne with David Larkin smashing in Summerhill’s second goal. Ian Gillett again produced a heroic save midway through the half to limit the damage, but Skryne simply had no reply to Summerhill’s determination. Mark Battersby, Skryne’s best forward got his hat-trick, before a late free from Paddy O’Rourke free completed Skryne’s scoring. Full time: Skryne 0-08, Summerhill 2-14.

Skryne – Ian Gillett. Timmy Lennon, Stephen O’Brien, Declan Morley. Ronan McCabe, Donie Ryan, Eoghan Greene, David McGoldrick, Harry Rooney. Paddy Fox (0-01), Mark Battersby (0-03), Aidan Tuite. Bryan Davis, Patrick O’Rourke (0-04, 4f), Frank Carty.
Subs used – Darragh Campion, Jason Reddy, Eoin Smyth, Robbie Clarke, Ian Davis

Fancy a flutter!! Why not play Skryne GFC’s online BLOTTO. Jackpots of up to €10,000. Go to www.locallotto.ie/SkryneGFC


About the Author: The Webmaster

Comments are closed.


Club Shop

Club Policies & Procedures

Health and Wellbeing

Play Our Blotto online

Pay Your membership online

Sign up for our Newsletter

Skryne GFC Facebook Page