A League Division 1 – Round 7. Na Fianna 1-06 Skryne 2-14

Skryne stroll to seventh win in A League

Na Fianna 1-06 Skryne 2-14

A League Division 1 – Round 7

Skryne travelled to Baconstown for a 7:30pm throw-in in Round 7 of the A League. The sky looked dark as the throw-in loomed and there was a steady drizzle which made underfoot conditions a little on the slippery side. The sky cleared just as the game began and the rain mercifully ceased.

The match kicked off with Skryne looking the more dangerous, but despite this the sides were even steven on the quarter hour mark  with both sides registering 2 frees each. Conor O’Brien got the first point from play for Skryne. This was immediately followed by Skryne’s first goal as a short kickout from the Na Fianna keeper was intercepted by Eoin Smyth who sent Paddy O’Rourke through on goal and he made no mistake as he punished the unfortunate keeper for his mistake. Skryne added a second goal a little over 5 minutes later when O’Rourke won possession close to the endline and despite close attention from the Na Fianna rear-guard he managed to work his way into the penalty area and finished to the net to extend Skryne’s  lead to 7 points. 2 late points from the Enfield men reduced the deficit to 5 at half time. Half-time score: Na Fianna 0-04, Skryne 2-03

Skryne played with the hill in the second half and had a purple patch in front of goals as they hit Na Fianna with 6 unanswered points in the opening 10 minutes of the half. Stephen O’Brien got the scoring underway with a point inside the opening minute, This was followed by scores from Mark Battersby, 2 from Paddy O’Rourke, Eoin Smyth and a peach of a score from corner-back Declan Morley. Na Fianna had a brief resurgence when they finished a fine move with a goal from their centre-forward. They added a point to narrow the gap to 7, but Skryne pulled away again with 3 points on the trot from Paddy O’Rourke(a free), sub Ian Davis who looked impressive following his introduction and Kevin Reilly. Na Fianna replied with a pointed free, but Ian Davis struck 2 more to cap a fine Skryne performance. Final score: Na Fianna 1-06, Skryne 2-14.

Skryne: Ian Gillett; Robbie Clarke, Eoghan Greene, Declan Morley(0-01); Stephen O’Brien(0-01), Donie Ryan, Timmy Lennon; David McGoldrick, Harry Rooney; Conor O’Brien(0-01), Mark Battersby(0-01), Eoin Smyth(0-01); Kevin O’Reilly(0-01), Paddy O’Rourke(2-05, 5f), Patrick Fox

Subs: Ian Davis(0-03), Ronan McCabe, Michael Doherty, Aidan Tuite, Colm Doherty


Fancy a flutter!! Why not play Skryne GFC’s online BLOTTO. Jackpots of up to €10,000. Go to


About the Author: The Webmaster

Comments are closed.


Club Shop

Club Policies & Procedures

Health and Wellbeing

Play Our Blotto online

Pay Your membership online

Sign up for our Newsletter

Skryne GFC Facebook Page