B League Division 1 – Round 2. Skryne 3-12 Wolfe Tones 0-06

2nd half goal blitz downs the Tones

Skryne 3-12 Wolfe Tones 0-06

B League Division 1 – Round 2


Skryne reserves made it two wins out of two in the B League this evening with a comfortable victory over Wolfe Tones.

Wolfe Tones started quite well in what was a competitive first half. In fact there was only one point between the sides at the 20 minute mark with Skryne shading it on the scoreboard by 0-04 points to 0-03. However Skryne took control of the middle of the park in the latter stages of the half scoring four points in a row off Wolfe Tones kickouts. A last gasp Tones point on the stroke of half-time left the half time score Skryne 0-08, Wolfe Tones 0-04


The second half was all one way traffic as Skryne turned the screw. Skryne opened the scoring with a pointed free from Ian Davis. Skryne hit the afterburners when they grabbed two quickfire goals in as many minutes, the first from Ian Davis after Niall Morley sent an inviting ball into the square towards Frank Carty who palmed it down to Ian Davis on the goal-line and he finished it to the net. Davis returned the favour a minute later when he set up Carty for Skryne’s second goal. Skryne killed the game off completely midway through the half when Stephen O’Brien intercepted a Wolfe Tones pass deep in the Skryne half and soloed forward on a Skryne counter attack. He worked the ball to Conor O’Brien who spotted Jason Fox bursting towards the Tones goal. Fox made no mistake as he blasted past the Tones keeper who couldn’t keep the shot out despite getting a hand to it. Skryne were now 3-09 to 0-04 ahead and practically home and dry. Tones notched up the next two points of the half but the Skryne defence were to deny them any further scores from then on. Skryne tagged on a further three points, one from full-back Mark Jordan, as they capped a fine performance finishing on a scoreline of 3-12 to 0-06.

Skryne: Des McAviney; Timmy Lennon, Mark Harrington, Darren Fox; Stephen O’Brien(0-01), Declan Morley, Niall Morley; Michael Doherty, David McGoldrick; Kevin Reilly(0-02, 1f), Ronan McCabe(0-02), Conor O’Brien(0-02); James Hegarty(0-01), Ian Davis(1-01, 1f), Jason Fox (1-00)

Subs: Frank Carty(1-00), Mark Jordan(0-01), Neil Burke(0-01),  Colm Doherty, Ciarán Finnerty (0-01)


Fancy a flutter!! Why not play Skryne GFC’s online BLOTTO.

Jackpots of up to €10,000. Go to


About the Author: The Webmaster

Comments are closed.


Club Shop

Club Policies & Procedures

Health and Wellbeing

Play Our Blotto online

Pay Your membership online

Sign up for our Newsletter

Skryne GFC Facebook Page