Feis Cup, Quarter Final. Skryne 3-19 Donaghmore/Ashbourne 2-13

Victory For Skryne in Feis Cup

Skryne 3-18 Donaghmore/Ashbourne 2-13

Feis Cup – Quarter Final

Skryne reached the semi final of the Feis Cup with victory over Donaghamore Ashbourne in a high scoring match under the excellent lights in Duleek this evening. 

On an ideal and warm evening for October, with little or no breeze, both sides played some good free-flowing football which kept the small attendance entertained for the hour. The sides were evenly matched in the first half and the play went from end to end with never more than two scores between them throughout this period. Skryne defended the Pavilion end in this half and began the game well and an early goal from top scorer Patrick O’Rourke set the tone for the rest of the match. Darragh Campion and Ciaran Lenehan had the better of their direct opponents at midfield and this gave their forwards the ammunition to rack up this high score. In fact seven different players got on the score-sheet in this half alone. 

The game itself, and the Skryne performance in particular, was a vast improvement from last weeks debacle against O’Mahonys. They were without the influential Harry Rooney through injury from that match but made light of his loss with a much better team effort. The defence was well marshalled by Stephen O’Brien with great help from Declan Morley and Darren Fox. Ian Gillett made some good saves between the sticks and could not be faulted for either of the Don/Ash goals – the second of which came late in the game. 

As stated, all the Blues forwards were on form and when Ronan McCabe scored an excellent third Skryne goal midway through the second half the game was as good as over. To their credit Donaghamore Ashbourne never gave up and added their second goal with five minutes left. This kept the Blues honest and they then finished strongly adding three more points to their tally to run out eight point winners. 

Skryne – Ian Gillett. Robbie Clarke, Stephen O’Brien, Declan Morley. Eoin Smyth (0-1), Niall Lenehan, Darren Fox. Darragh Campion (0-3), Ciaran Lenehan (0-1). Conor O’Brien (0-1), Mark Battersby (0-3), Paddy Fox (0-1). Ronan McCabe (1-2), Patrick O’Rourke (2-6), Jason Reddy.

Subs used – Jason Fox, Neil Burke (0-1), Frank Carty, David Carroll and Keith Donoghue. 

Fancy a flutter!! Why not play Skryne GFC’s online BLOTTO. Jackpots of up to €10,000. Go to www.locallotto.ie/SkryneGFC


About the Author: The Webmaster

Comments are closed.