Seniors Record first win in feis Cup

Skryne 5 – 8; Ballinlough 1 – 9


Skryne scored almost as many goals as points in beating Ballinlough in Ballinlough in the Feis cup on Sunday with Paddy Fox and Adam O’ Sullivan getting two each. Fielding without a number of regulars, including Meath panilists Paddy O’ Rourke, Ian Davis and Ciaran Lenehan the Skryne men were much too strong for Ballinlough. Right from the throw-in Skryne, playing against the wind, attacked and when Mark Battersby goaled after 5 minutes they were 1 – 2 to nil up. Sean Geraghty opened Ballinlough’s account only to see Paddy Fox score the first of his two. Fox, Kevin Mulvany and James Hegarty added three more points before Derek Muldoon scored Ballinlough’s second. Kevin Devin and James Hegarty traded points to leave the score at half time at 2 – 6 to 0 – 3.

Whatever was said at half time saw a much improved Ballinlough in the second half. Cian Mallon fielded well at midfield and carried forwarded and after passing the ball was on hand to take the return and blast past a helpless Phelim O’ Rourke in the Skryne goals. David McGoldrick replied with a point for Skryne but then Thomas McCullen with two points, and Seamus Fagan put Ballinlough within stricking distance with just four points between the teams after 41 minutes. However Adam O’ Sullivan netted his first making the task very difficult for Ballinlough. Ballinlough did score three more points from Seamus Fagan (2) and Colm Mallon, but the goal they needed never looked like a possibility mainly because of the defensive display by man of the match Martin Mulvany at fullback. Paddy Fox and Adam O’ Sullivan then added their second goals, and Mark Battersby tagged on a further point leaving the final score Skryne 5 – 8, Ballinlough 1 – 9.

Best for Skryne were Martin Mulvany, Alan Carty and Paddy Fox while Benjy Smith and Seamus Fagan impressed for Ballinlough.

Teams. Skryne: F O’Rourke, V O’ Reilly, M. Mulvany, M. Jordan, D Morley, A Carty, J. Hegarty (2), D McGoldrick(2), A.Tuite, A O’ Sullivan (2 – 0), B Byrne, P. Fox (2 – 1), R McCabe, K Mulvany (2), , M. Battersby(1 – 1) Subs – B Farrell for V O’ Reilly (17 Min), K O’Reilly for A Tuite (31min), L Gilsenan for R McCabe (47 min)


Ballinlough: K McGuinness, R Farrell, J Byrne, B Smyth, E O’Reilly, L McGuire, K Devine (1), S Fagan (3), Cian Mallon (1 – 0), C Briody, D Muldoon (1), S Geraghty (1), C olm Mallon (1), T McCullen (2), K Rothweel. Subs : S Deevey for K Rothwell (34 min).


The referee was Conor Ferguson from Gael Colmcille.


About the Author:

Comments are closed.

Play Our Blotto online


Pay Your membership online

Pitch Booking

Club Shop

Health and Wellbeing

Club Policies & Procedures

Skryne GFC Facebook Page