Skryne Bow out to Navan O’Mahony’s in Feis Cup

Navan O’Mahony’s 2 – 16

Skryne 1 – 12

Played in Donore on Wednesday night (25 Sept) this match was effectively won in a ten minute purple patch for Navan O’Mahony’s just after half time when they scored two goals and three points to a solitary point for the Skryne men. After an evenly balanced first half, the Navan side led by 0 – 9 to 1 – 5 at the break. Skryne’s goal came from Mark Battersby who scored a total of 1 – 4 on the night.  Skryne’s downfall was their inability to finish the numerous chances that they created.  At least two goal and four point chances were squandered by profligate shooting.  Coupled with this was their inability to introduce more than two subs when players got tired towards the end of the match due to a very slack subs bench.  Their management were restricted to the availability of only seventeen players on the night.

The Skryne half forward line of Alan Carty, Paddy O’Rourke and Conor O’Brien were given the unenviable task of marking the Navan flying half back line of Gary O’Brien, Niall McKeigue and Seamus Reilly.  Also, O’Mahony’s had the best player on the field in David Bray who produced a wonderful performance. Despite this Skryne finished the game well and scored some lovely points against a team who on their day are the best team in the county.  While Skryne felt aggrieved that some of the scores during O’Mahony’s golden spell were allowed to stand, it was acknowledged that overall the Navan side were the best team in the game and deserved their win.

Skryne – Felim O’Rourke; Declan Morley, Martin Mulvaney, Mark Jordan; David McGoldrick (0-2, 1f), Ciaran Lenehan, Ronan McCabe; Paddy Fox (0-1), Harry Rooney; Allan Carty (0-2), Paddy O’Rourke (0-1 f), Conor O’Brien (0-1); Brian Davis, Ian Davis (0-1), Mark Battersby (1-4, 0-1f). Subs – Dermot Brennan for McCabe (ht), Niall Lenehan for Jordan (39).


O’Mahonys – Marcas Brennan; Stephen O’Toole, Kevin Reilly, Ian Matthews; Niall McKeigue (1-0) Gary O’Brien (0-3); Damien Moran, Stephen MacGabhann; Shane Gillespie (0-4,1f), Stephen Bray (1-2), Henry Finnegan (0-2); Jake Regan, David Bray (0-3), Paddy Smyth (0-1). Subs – Darragh Maguire for Regan (37), Ruairi O Coileain (0-1) for Moran (37), Shane Crosby for Matthews (49), John Rogers for O’Reilly (51), Sean Keating for Finnegan (60).

Referee – Liam O’Brien (Duleek-Bellewstown).

About the Author: Joseph O' Brien

Comments are closed.