Skryne Quality for final


Skryne 1 -10;

St. Peter’s Dunboyne 0 – 12

A goal after fourteen minutes, from Meath goalkeeper Paddy O’ Rourke, was the crucial score in this final match of the group 1 Senior football championship which was played in Trim on Sunday evening.  Indeed O’Rourke kicked 1 – 7 of his side’s 1 – 10 in this match which saw his side qualify for the knockout stages in second place in their group.  His first score came after just two minutes which was cancelled out on the ninth by Dunboyne.  He struck again on twelve minutes before he put his side ahead on a score line of a goal and two to a point with that goal.  Dunboyne upped their game and posted two quick points on fifteen and sixteen minutes.  O’ Rourke added further points on  nineteen, twenty six, twenty eight and twenty nine minutes against three more for Dunboyne to leave the half time score at Skryne 1 – 6, Dunboyne 0 – 6.

Dunboyne were the first to score in the second half with a point just after the restart.  Ian Davis and Conor O’Brien put over two more making it a four point game after forty three minutes.  Dunboyne pulled two back on forty five and forty six minutes but Thomas McKeown extended Skryne’s advantage to three with forty seven minutes on the clock.  Dunboyne now knew that their year was coming to an end if they did not get a result and upped their game considerably. Points on the forty ninth, fiftieth, and fifty fifth minutes saw them draw level for the first time since the twelfth minute, but try as they might they could not claim a winning score.  However with just four minutes left of the stopwatch Paddy O’Rourke once again put over a point to leave the final score at Skryne 1 – 10, St Peter’s Dunboyne 0 – 12

Skryne: F. O’Rourke, N. Lenehan, C. Lenehan, D. Morley, P. Fox, T. McKeown (1), S. O’Brien,  A. Tuite, H. Rooney, D. McGoldrick, B. Davis, I. Davis(1, f), M. Battersby, P. O’Rourke (1 – 7), C. O’Brien (1). Subs J. Morley for B. Davis, M. Jordan for McKeown, D. Ryan for Battersby.

Referee: Colm McManus



About the Author: Joseph O' Brien

Comments are closed.