Skryne U8s wrap up 2011 season in style..

Skryne U8s were delighted to host Newbridge Sarsfield U8s, for their final game of the season.  Despite the wet and windy conditions both teams played some excellent football with Skryne coming out on top in both matches.  The players were delighted to wrap up their year in style and they, more than deserved the refreshments and snacks afterwards.

The game was a fitting end to an enjoyable year that began back on the 5th March.   In total 35 players registered ensuring an excellent turnout throughout the year at both training and matches.   Training was generally held on either Friday evening or Saturday mornings depending on games and blitz fixtures.  While there are no formal competitions at this age level, Meath GAA did organise a series of Blitz days.   With an emphasis on participation and skills development the blitz day teams were typically 7-8 a side matches meaning that we were able to have 3 and sometimes 4 teams playing on any one day. The U8s participated in over 10 separate blitz days from April to September including two which were hosted by Skryne.  We also played a number of challenges games throughout the year.

The highlight of the year came in July when the U8s we were invited to play in an All Leinster U8 Skills Days in Croke Park.  The young Skryne players did really well and won both their matches.  We certainly hope that it will not be last time some of these players get to show off their skills in Croke Park.

A sincere thanks to the parents who provided transports to a range of venues throughout the county.  We would also like to give a big thank you to those who helped out at the training sessions and at the blitz days.  All help was gratefully appreciated

The Under 8 Panel for 2011 is as follows

Scott Armstrong, Killian Cahill, Naoise Canavan, Nathan Chawke, Alex Curran, James Dardis, Jack Donnelly, John Finnerty, Sophie Finnegan, Molly Fitzpatrick, Kane Flanagan, Kyle Gaynor, Oisin Keogh, Cathal Lenihan, James Mangan, James McCabe, Sean McCarthy, Oisin McConnell, Rian McConnell, Paddy McEniff, Conor McLoughlin, Cillian Moss, Aoran Murray, Andrew Nolan, Luke O’Brien, Shane O’Connor, Daniel O’Kane, John O’Regan, Kian Reddy, Alex Schmeider, Jack Swan, Mark Swan, Conor Ward and Paddy Wright


About the Author: Pat Hawes

Comments are closed.