U15 Div2 Final Skryne v Wolfe Tones

Skryne 1 -16, Wolf Tones 2 -7

An early goal by Wolf Tones ignited the Skryne players into action in the Under 15 Division 2 League Final in Cortown last Thursday evening. When both teams were level at one point each, Wolf Tones drilled the ball to the back of the Skryne net, however it was the Skryne players that reacted best to this by working the ball the length of the field for Craig Nolan to score a great point. Shortly afterwards James Finnerty, from a thirty five metre free, watched as his shot sailed into the Wolf Tones net. This set the platform for Skryne to increase their lead through points from Jarleth Jordon, Colm Doherty and Paraic Finnerty.

Skryne played an expansive style of football using every square meter of the Cortown pitch. In a keenly contested first half Skryne went into the break leading by five points. Skryne picked up where they left off by scoring the first two points of the second half. Wolf Tones then began to take a grip on the game scoring a number of unanswered points and but for the excellent goal keeping skills of James Keane in the Skryne goal would have closed the gap considerably.

The quality of football played by both sides was of the highest calibre with all the skills of the game on display. Both teams are to be commended for their preparation and their displays on the night.

Mid-way through the second half Skryne held a commanding lead of eight points, however the Tones came back to win a penalty and reduced the gap to just five points. They held siege to the Skryne goal on a number of occasions in the last ten minutes, but Skryne battled bravely and didn’t let the Wolf Tones get any further grip in the game. Skryne scored the last three points of the game through Sean Byrne, Frankie Carty and Luke Thorpe.

Skryne showed greater teamwork, intensity and work rate on the night and were deserving winners.

James Keane, Jack Dardis, Colm Craige, Tommy Kelly, Cormac O’Dowd, Robbie Clarke, Tommy Carpenter, Sean Byrne, James Finnerty, Jarleth Jordan, Paraic Finnerty, Luke Thorpe, Craig Nolan, Frankie Carty, Colm Doherty.

Lloyd Clarke, Eoghan Quinn, Evan O’Brien, Dylan Bissett, Shane Dowling, Peter Swan, Liam Gill

About the Author: Hugh Mc Nelis

Comments are closed.