B League Division 1 – Round 5. Ratoath 2-14 Skryne 4-09

Close Call for Skryne

Ratoath 2-14 Skryne 4-09

B League Division 1 – Round 5

Skryne mentained their unbeaten run in the B League Div 1 with this one point win over Neighbours Ratoath this evening. The match was played in bitterly cold conditions in Ratoath with Skryne having the benefit of the crossfield breeze in the first half.
There were 12 minutes on the clock before Aidan Tuite registered Skryne’s first point after they had kicked five wides in this period. By this time Ratoath had already scored 5 points. Ian Davis then left the minimum between the sides when he fired home a penalty after Jason Reddy had been fouled in the area. Ratoath restored their four point lead on twenty minutes when they got in on the goalscoring act. Aidan Tuite replied with another Skryne goal and the Blues went on to lead at half time when Jason Fox pointed almost on the half hour to leave the score at the break – Skryne 2-5 Ratoath 1-7.

The second half was just as close as the first and there was never more than 4 points between the teams at any time. While Ratoath scored exactly the same as they did in the first half, 1-7, Skryne added two more goals with Tuity getting his second after good combination football further out and James Hegarty raiding upfield to bag another major.
In yet another great team effort, Mark Harrington, Darren Fox and Ronan McCabe marshalled a very tight defence with confidence. The Doherty Brothers – Michael and Colm – held their own against a fast moving Ratoath pair in the middle of the field. In the forwards, apart from the scorers, Jason Reddy was close to being back to his best after two serious knee injuries hampered him for the last two years.

Overall this was a good result for Skryne considering 8 of their starting lineup played some part in yesterday’s A League match against Kells. This also keeps their unbeaten run going with 5 wins from 5 outings.

Skryne – Des McAvinney. Timmy Lennon, Mark Harrington, Darren Fox. Niall Lenehan, Ronan McCabe, James Hegarty (1-1). Michael Doherty, Colm Doherty. Niall Morley (0-1), Jason Fox (0-3), Aidan Tuite (2-1). Jason Reddy, Felim O’Rourke (0-1), Ian Davis (1-2).

Subs Used – David Carroll, Ciaran Finnerty and Keith Donoghue.


Fancy a flutter!! Why not play Skryne GFC’s online BLOTTO. Jackpots of up to €10,000. Go to


About the Author: The Webmaster

Comments are closed.

Pay Your membership online

Play Our Blotto online

Child Welfare

Pitch Booking

Buy our History Book


Club Shop

Health and Wellbeing

Club Policies & Procedures

Skryne GFC Facebook Page

Skryne GFC Twitter Feed